February 1, 2023

Camp John Hay Hotels led Cordillera-based teams that clinched the championship trophies in the seniors and lower brackets of the regular divisions of the 72nd Fil-Am Invitational Golf Tournament held at Camp John Hay and Baguio Country Club.

Cordilleran golfers also bagged individual awards for firing the highest scores in the different groupings of the biggest and longest amateur tournament in the world.

FIL-AM 2022 CHAMPIONS — The Camp John Hay Hotels (top photo) composed of Shean Bedi, Ronald Samaniego, Jaime Borromeo, Federico Mandapat, Ramon Luis Garcia and Mario Benitez emerged the best Cordillera-based team in the seniors’ division of the 72nd Fil-Am Invitational Golf Tournament held at Baguio Country Club and Camp John Hay with 367 points while Team Razcals Winaca with members Noel Lamsis, Nestor Pablo, Bernard Capuyan, Ernesto Abansi, and Danny Dangatan carried the local teams in the lower bracket of the regular division with 290 points. — Harley Palangchao

CJH Hotels collected 367 points during the tournament, the highest team score among all teams from the Cordillera, to win the Fil-A of the seniors division. Its members are Shean Bedi, Ronald Samaniego, Jaime Borromeo, Federico Mandapat, Jr., Ramon Luis Garcia, and Mario Benitez.

The Baguio Blue Bloods composed of Caesar Dulay, Romeo Aquino, Rudy Lockey, Morris Domogan, Mat Luspian, and Nelson Eslao collected 344 points to win as champion in the seniors’ Am-A division.

The Bibak NY/NJ/Igolfers composed of John Dangos, Diman Felipe, Ramon Gaoat, and Herbert Donglasan had 326 points for a third place finish in the seniors’ Am-A.

Donglasan had 126 points for the team to win the individual top scorer in the seniors’ group two.

The battle for the seniors’ Fil-B championship trophy was between CJH Team 1 and BCC Team 1, with the former winning as champion with 326 points. Its members are Villamor Bumanglag, John Gerald Marasigan, Dai Tsuchiya, Yun Hur, and Bayani Tecson.

Yun Hur also won as the individual top scorer in the seniors’ group three with 101 points.

BCC Team 1 with members Goody Ignacio, Ramon Aldana, Marciano Garcia, Ed Montenegro, Ed Basbas, and Richard Difuntorum placed se-cond with 273 points.

The BCC Team 2 composed of Mar Bustos, Ed Dirige, Anthony Co, Jeffred Acop, Rafael Ding, and Benito Ang topped the seniors’ Am-C with 319 points.

Bustos also emerged the top scorer in the seniors’ group five with 88 points.

The Davao Eagle Masters II with Randolf Cadiogan of Mountain Province as a member placed second in the Am-C with 285 points. Its other members are Abraham Dizon, Elias Arriba, Carlito Dublan, and Nerio Jumilo Sotto.

The Residences of Brent composed of Joaquin Buenaflor, Javier Velasquez, Joel Pachao, Reynaldo Gundran, Raul Cadiogan, and Ismael Basabica was the run-away winner in the seniors’ Am-D with 272 points.

The CJH Team 2 composed of Boni De Castro, Charles David Baguilat, Raul Tangco, Rowlyndon Julian, and Robert Basco placed second in the seniors’ Am-B with 354 points.

Basco also won the seniors’ group four top scorer’s trophy with 106 points.

Leonard Sab-it of Team Kumpadres collected 65 points to win as top scorer in the senior’s group eight.

Razcals Winaca carried the banner for Cordillera teams in the lower bracket of the regular division when it topped the Am-F with 290 points. Its members are Noel Lamsis, Bernard Capuyan, Nestor Pablo, Ernesto Abansi, and Danny Dangatan.

Lamsis also won the regular group 2 individual top scorer with 87 points followed by Capuyan with 81.

Pablo, on the other hand, had 65 points to win the individual award in group 3 while Francois Jomir Miranda, who played for Palm Grove, had 79 to win group 4 followed by his son, Hazy Jhones, with 70.

The Vancouver Horizon Golf Association with some Cordilleran members topped the regular Am-G with 244 points. Its members are Alejandro Peredo, Jose Aldrin Labon, Rodolfo Valdez, and Vidal Ang.

The Ismael CPA/Amigos composed of Rogelio Sagum, Steve Paatan, Patrick Henry Villanueva, Armen Posadas, and Laureano Maragisan placed second in the Fil-G with 243 points while the Baguio Blue Bloods Eagles composed of Derek Bautista, Ellerton Dangatan, Aldrin Camba, Nelson Rodriguez, Willy Tacayan, and Paul Quitiquit had 211 points for a second place finish in the Am-G.

The Baguio City Golf Team composed of Jay Bitao, Rolando Bautista, Richard Dayag, Roland Dayag, and Ryan Tablac placed third in the Am-G with 202 points.

Tablac stole the thunder during the first day of the tournament when he aced hole nine of BCC. 

Action resumes for the premier Fil and Am championship and higher brackets of the regular division from Dec. 3 to 11. – Harley F. Palangchao