February 27, 2024

Janrey Dalo of Sta. Praxedes, Cagayan and Czeena Mharie Rapisora of Ilocos Norte are the winners in the inaugural Apayao Cycling Challenge fun race held Oct.7 in Luna town.

Mike Castillo of Ilocos Norte and Kenn Saclag tailed Dalo in the open category while Jacky Cabagbag of Ilocos Norte and Melanie Haban followed Rapisora in the women’s category of the event organized by the Apayao Provincial Tourism Office with assistance from the Department of Tourism-Cordillera.

APAYAO CYCLING CHALLENGE — Dozens of cyclists and biking enthusiasts joined the inaugural Apayao Cycling Challenge held in Luna town on Oct. 7 and organized by the Provincial Tourism Office with assistance from the Department of Tourism-Cordillera. — Vince Dangiapo/DOT-CAR

The 19 and below category saw Jemuel Aggalao of Kalinga winning followed by Fred Rei Du of Cagayan and Allan Jay Tupasi of Ilocos Norte.

Efraim Iñigo of Ilocos Sur ruled the 20 to 29 age group followed by Jasen Galoso and John Llyod Pascion, both from the Ilocos provinces while the 30 to 29 age group was topped by Carlos Gasmen of Ilocos Sur followed by Nash Dukiling, also of Ilocos Sur, and Nathaniel Uvero of Isabela.

Allan Tapuro of Ilocos Sur won in the 40 and above category followed by Noel Fabros from Santiago City, Cagayan and Rolando Burgos of Ilocos Sur.

The event has also gathered riders from the neighboring provinces of Kalinga, La Union, Nueva Vizcaya, Isabela, Cagayan Valley, and Baguio City.

The participation of riders from other provinces added an extra level of excitement and competitiveness to the race, solidifying Apayao’s potential as a cycling hub and drawing enthusiasts from far and wide.

Apayao Provincial Tourism Officer Rebecca Mamba thanked the participants and the provincial government, saying the event highlighted the natural beauty of the province. 

The province aims to attract athletes and enthusiasts from all corners of the country, not only to boost the local economy but also to foster community engagement through sports tourism. – Vince Dangiapo