June 14, 2024

The city council has approved Ordinance 26, s. 2024 or the “Baguio City Health Workers’ Day Ordinance” to celebrate the health workers’ day in the city.
The ordinance is anchored on Republic Act 10069 or the “Health Workers’ Day Act” which declared May 7 every year as “Health Workers’ Day” to recognize the country’s health workers who provide vital health services and promote their rights and welfare, and enhance their sense of worth and dignity.
“Health workers are persons who are engaged in health and health-related work regardless of employment status, including medical, allied health professionals, administrative and support services personnel, and those employed in hospitals, sanitaria, health infirmaries, health centers, rural health units, barangay health stations, and clinics and such other health-related establishments owned and operated by the government or its political subdivisions with original charters, or by the private sector.”
The ordinance intends to provide a venue for health workers to participate in city-related activities for the celebration of NHW Day; encourage the conduct of health worker-related activities relevant to their profession, rights, and welfare; encourage health institutions and organizations to conduct activities that will recognize the importance of health workers in the community; and conduct other activities that would help in their professional development inside and outside the hospitals, offices, and public and private institutions.
A copy of the ordinance was submitted to the office of City Mayor Benjamin Magalong for his signature.
The city council approved Resolution 339, s. 2024 extending until June 2 the ongoing “Urban Agriculture Technology Exhibit and Harvest Festival” at the Melvin Jones football field led by the City Veterinary and Agriculture Office, the Department of Agriculture-Cordillera, and its partner farmers.
Farmers and Fisherfolks Month is celebrated every May 7 under Presidential Proclamation 33 signed by President Corazon Aquino on March 21, 1981, among other objectives, to enable the farmers and fishermen to maximize their contribution to the nation’s wealth.
The extension will give the participating farmers from the 16 agricultural-based barangays of the city more time to showcase and sell their productsand own locally grown and harvested produce.
The city council approved Resolution 327, s. 2024, “Supporting the upcoming ‘Jesus and Me in Worship’ on May 31, 2024, at the Baguio Convention and Cultural Center with the city government as co-sponsor.”
The action is aligned with the objectives and core values of the City of Baguio under its revised charter, particularly for the city to be managed by sincere and steadfast God-fearing leaders in partnership with responsible citizenry.
It also complies with Ordinance 64, s. 2021, for the restoration and enhancement of good values, which recognizes faith and religiosity and the Baguio as a Character City with a continuous mission in its governance to impart and inculcate positive values in all aspects of human endeavor.
The resolution also acknowledged the role of the Worship event as a unifying platform for believers of Jesus Christ to come together to give praise and worship His name.
The resolution allowed the Rainbow New Life Mission International Inc. to showcase a brief film at Igorot Park for the whole month of May, specifically Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday from 7 to 9 p.m. as part of their promotional campaign for the said gospel concert at 6 p.m. on May 31, at the BCCC.
Through separate resolutions, the city council commended certain individuals, groups, and institutions for their exemplary and distinct achievements, which not only brought pride and honor but also manifested the City of Baguio’s role in providing quality public service and amenities that contributed to the success of its inhabitants and constituents.
Commended in Resolution 332, s. 2024 is Earhaisha dela Cruz Soriano of the University of the Cordilleras for being one of the 10th placers in the May 6 and 7 Philippine Nurses Licensure Examination with 7,749 successful examinees out of 11,116 qualified examinees.
In Resolution 333, s. 2024, the Saint Louis University-School of Nursing, Allied Health, and Biological Sciences is likewise commended for achieving a 100 percent passing rate in the said NLE and named one of the top performing schools in the Philippines.
In Resolution 334, s. 2024, the Bureau of Jail Management and Penology-Baguio City Female Dormitory was commended for its outstanding performance as Best Custodial Unit, Best Escorting Unit, and Best Welfare and Development Unit under the leadership of Jail Inspector Joan Bacayan, Acting Jail Warden, during the Regional Gawad Penolohiya for the first quarter of 2024.
In Resolution 346, s. 2024, The Retired Reverend Nestor Poltic was commended for being elected as the eighth prime bishop of the Episcopal Church in the Philippines during the 12th Episcopal Church Synod at the Cathedral of Saint Mary and Saint John in E. Rodriguez, Quezon City.
He is the third diocesan bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of North Central Philippines since May1, 2018. He is known for his leadership, vision, and unwavering commitment to the spiritual and social well-being of the community.
Commended in Resolution 335, s. 2024 are the members of the Baguio City Football Club teams for emerging Champions in their respective categories in the “First Double AA Football Tournament” last May 11 at Lipa City, with the guidance of head coach Jerry Soriano and assistant coaches Marc Benedict Solang, Elmerine Panagan, and Lily Sumebang.
They are Cloud Zeiv Balao-En, Chris Jericho Boadilla, Yzac Kyler Erker, Clint Gupa-Al, Mory Mitchel Tapp, Fredy Bangayan Jr., Rhione Ekid, Vance Gibson Gallawen, Lovella Louise Maramba, and Jerzzy Jeff Zapantain the Under Eight years old category.
Those Under 10 Years old are Vito Genovesce Cabansi, Lordwin Dalsan, Vhemer Glen Gallawen, Thom Benedict Marcelo, Kieffer Zealan Paulino, Shahannia Aliah Pitag, Carlos Liam Cabello, Wolfgang Xander Erker, Keithler Sean Lumberio, Nehenehemyan Moldero, Elkurtwrayneder Panagan, and Ralph Rimas.
Under below 12 years old category are Juan Gabriel Akcaño, Lance Alley Lawingan,Charice Manganip,Maria Aleah Medrano,Muxyz Patongao, Zion Theodore Tejano, Rick Robert Esteban, John Harley Manansala, Yanan Manlong, Bree Allyson Mindaras, Jonette Joyce Pimentel, and Kaiser Karl Gabaen.