April 16, 2024

The Baguio-Benguet chapter of the Integrated Bar of the Philippines elected its new set of officers whose term began on April 1 and will end in April 2025.
The new set officers is led by Jose Mari Molintas – president; Brenner Bengwayan – vice president; retired judge Adolfo Malingan – treasurer; Jado Rafael Bognadon – auditor; Alma Okko – secretary; and Elmer Manuel Sagsago – public relations officer.
The board of directors are Juliet Sapling-Imperial, Jefferson Cosalan, Ronald Perez, George Baywong III, and Jeffrey Mendoza.
Mayor Benjamin Magalong administered the oath of office of the new officers on March 20.
Meanwhile, the IBP congratulates 12 graduates from the Law schools of Saint Louis University, University of the Cordilleras, and University of Baguio on their appointment as municipal trial court judges.
They are Mary Jane Andomang, Ana Cristina Quiroz, Florimae Imperial, James Fernandez, Dennis Ferrer, Romelyn Alinao, Rhodora Dangz, Romelyn Kimmayong, Carlo Benedict Nagpala, Rowena Lorenzana, Marianito Gayaman, and Maria Lourdes Esperanza Soriano.
The IBP is the official organization of all Philippine lawyers established through Republic Act 6397, which confirmed the power of the Supreme Court to adopt rules of court to effect the integration of the Philippine Bar.
Presidential Decree 181 promulgated on May 4, 1973 constituted the IBP into a corporate body by providing government assistance for the accomplishment of its purposes. – Rimaliza A. Opiña