June 21, 2024

The detection of the B117 SARS-CoV2 variant in two provinces in the Cordillera has prompted the neighboring province of La Union to restrict the entry of people coming from Baguio, Mountain Province, Kalinga, and Benguet.
In Executive Order 2 s. 2021 signed by Gov. Francisco Ortega III, people allowed to enter the province are health workers, government employees, returning residents, returning overseas workers, those seeking medical care, tourists, and those participating in humanitarian missions.
Ortega said the provincial government has to strengthen its border control measures as compliment to the border control measures currently being implemented in its neighboring provinces.
The provincial government has also tightened requirements when entering the province.
Health workers and government employees entering La Union are required to present their company ID, health declaration form with “Namnama” QR code, and travel permit.
Returning residents who are returning from work or business are required to present an hdf with QR code, company ID or certificate of employment, travel order, and a negative RT-PCR test result valid for 21 days before entering the province.
For non-residents who will go to La Union for work, business, official travel, and humanitarian missions, they are required to submit negative RT-PCR test valid for seven days prior to arrival in the province, plus hdf, company ID, and travel permit.
For those seeking medical consult, requirements are filled-up hdf, government ID, and confirmed doctor’s appointment.
For tourists, hdf, government ID, travel permit, negative RT-PCR test, and booking confirmation from a Department of Tourism-accredited accommodation facility are required.
The EO took effect Feb. 4 and will automatically be lifted once said areas will be classified under modified general community quarantine. – Rimaliza A. Opiña