April 22, 2024

■  Ofelia C. Empian 

Albert Omboga and Maritoni Rafael have emerged as winners in their respective categories of the 42-kilometer event of the Baguio Marathon on March 17. 

Omboga finished the race in three hours, five minutes, and 21 seconds as runners traversed Loakan Road, leading to the Philippine Military Academy, while looking at the panoramic views of the mountains of Pulag and Ugo, and eventually arriving at Ampucao near Mt. Ulap.  

He was followed by Jonathan Espirito in second place at 3:20:49 and Christian Pulupul at 3:42:56.

In the female side, Maritoni Rafael was the first to arrive at 4:47:34 followed by Meng Chan Binabise at 5:06:23 and Mary Ann Dulay at 5:18:28. 

John Paul Enano and Lesly Ann Autida led the male and female side of the 21-km. category during the event which was purely a road run.  

Winners in the 12-km. race were Kyle Matthew del Rosario and Pauline Taasan in the male and female categories, while the top two finishers in the 5-km. were Osborn Fangon and Angel Mae Saysay.  

Team Malaya race director Stephen Felices said the event not only allowed the convergence of vi-siting and local runners but also featured Cordillera culture through the presence of cultural dancers and local performers during the activity.  

“The marathon may be a sporting event, but the real measure of achievement is in the strength of our character, the depth of our values, and the unwavering integrity we display,” Felices said. 

Felices said in 2019, proceeds of the event supported the Baguio paralytic athletes, but this year the group “wants to scout new breed of athletes to support and send to international events.”