April 23, 2024

Almost all incumbent mayors and vice mayors in Benguet will have opponents in the 2022 elections save for one mayor and three vice mayors.

Kibungan Mayor Cesar Molitas, who is seeking reelection, is the lone unopposed candidates among the 13 incumbent mayors.

Also unopposed for the vice mayoralty position are Angelito Galao Sr. of Atok, Maria Carantes of Tuba, and Juan Esnara of Tublay.

Last week, incumbent Board Member Robert Namoro was inadvertently omitted from the list of aspirants for governor, who will challenge incumbent Gov. Mechor Diclas and four other aspirants.

The different municipalities also saw newcomers and come-backing officials joining the race.

In Atok, Mayor Raymundo Sarac seeks reelection against challengers Paquito Calantas and Franklin Smith while 21 are running for councilor.

In Buguias, Mayor Ruben Tinda-an and current councilor Donato Bacquian will go head-to-head for the mayoralty post while Vie Mayor Dione Baucas will be challenged by Daniel Igualdo. There are 18 gunning for the councilor.

In Bokod, Mayor Thomas Wales Jr. and former Vice Mayor Reynaldo Tello will face off for the mayoralty race while Vice Mayor Pedro Anton will be challenged by Councilors Erik Donn Ignacio and Edward Albin. There are 20 running for the councilor.

Bakun Mayor Bill Raymundo seeks reelection against Councilor Amando Camodag, Cresencio Angluben, Elmer Cambulo, and Paulino Dalmones.

Bakun Vice Mayor Edward Buscol is also seeking reelection against Fausto Labinio and Florencio Vicente while there are around 20 aspirants as councilors.

With Mayor Victorio Palangdan throwing his hat in the congressional race, Itogon has six aspirants for mayor, namely Paul Camantiles, Vice Mayor Adriano Carantes Jr., Napoleon Fianza, Janeth Martin, Noel Ngolob, and Bernard Waclin.

Running for vice mayor in Itogon are Gerard Cornel and Dante Alain Xavier Godio while there are 24 running for the council position.

In Kabayan, Mayor Basilio Louie Daoal Jr. will be up against Florante Bantales Jr., Mircoles Lamses, and Marlon Nginsayan while the candidates for vice mayor Mike Badival, Dan Pedro Guinsiman, and Larry Lepi. There are 24 aspirants for councilor position.

In Kapangan, Mayor Manny Fermin seeks reelection against Councilor Bruno Canuto. Vice Mayor Mayo Eslay also seeks reelection against Andrew Bentres. There are 18 aspirants as councilors.

In Kibungan, Vice Mayor Edwin Nitron will be challenged by Larry Tello and Marcos Olayo. There are only 14 candidates for councilor.

La Trinidad Mayor Romeo Salda will be challenged this time by Nestor Fongwan Jr. while Vice Mayor Roderick Awingan will be challenged by Renato Tereng and Osburn Visaya. There are 17 aspirants for councilor.

The mayoralty bets in Mankayan are incumbent Mayor Frenzel Ayong, former vice mayor Dario Banario, and former mayor Materno Luspian.

Mankayan Vice Mayor Joseph Tongacan will be challenged by Councilor Julio Joey and Sanzhez Mangsi while 28 are running for councilor.

In Tuba, Mayor Clarita Sal-ongan will be challenged by former mayor Ignacio Rivera while 17 are aspirants for councilor.

Tublay Mayor Armando Lauro seeks reelection against Felipe Cosalan, Jr. while 15 are gunning for the council seat.

Sablan Mayor Manuel Munar will be challenged by Councilor Alfredo Dacumos Jr. while Vice Mayor Arthur Baldo seeks reelection against Emily Camhit. There are 20 running for councilor. – Ofelia C. Empian