December 6, 2023

Elite trail-runner Rhys Yvan Dane Pawid is on a winning streak, as he ruled the Itogon Mountain Ultra on June 18 in Itogon, Benguet.

Pawid, who previously won the Hardcore 100-kilometer race in Nueva Vizcaya and Benguet, championed the 50-km. event of the race with a time of six hours, 35 minutes and 26 seconds.

The Ibaloy trailrunner, with a rank of Jail Senior Inspector led the participants as they passed through the Itogon mountain ranges including Mt. Ulap, which is one of the most visited mountains in the country with a peak of 1,846 meters above sea level (MASL); the pine-forested historical trail of Mt. Bidawan with an elevation of 1,240 MASL; and Mt. Kotkot with its wild berries standing at 1,430 MASL.

He was followed by Angelo Maynard Encornal with a time of 7:55:05 while third placer Jacob Madalang finished at 8:01:19.

Madalang also recently placed third in the 42K of the Tawid Marathon in Bontoc, Mountain Province. 

Rhea Falitnang ruled the women’s side of the 50-km. with a time of 10:55:36 and placed ninth overall followed by Charmaine Hazel Arrazola at 11:42:01 and Sherwina Catte at 13:39:41.

Top three male finishers in the 25-km. were led by Zyriel Balin followed by Daniel Marsh and Takeshi Kurita while the distaff side was topped by Clarisse Yeung, who also placed third overall, followed by 55-year-old Myra Montiveros and Perlin Ba-awa.

Reagan Ossic was the top finisher in the 12-km. male followed by Wellington Beef Jr. and Daryll King Dacnes Willy.

Southeast Asian Games gold medalist Sandi Menchi Abahan ruled the 12-km. female followed by Kana Antonio in second and Silamie Apolistar-Gutang.

In the six kilometer male event, first and second pla-cers Evan Loyosen and Lance Loyosen stepped at the finish line at the same time at 1:00:43 time followed by Michael Masirag in third after two minutes and four seconds. 

Christine Joy dela Rosa ruled the six kilometer women followed by Jillian Karren Chico on second and Regina Librada Amil on third place.

The event was  organized by Itogon Mountain Runners in partnership with the municipality of Itogon, Intrepid Spirit, and Team Malaya. – Ofelia C. Empian