February 26, 2024

The provincial government and three municipalities of Mountain Province were recognized during the Regional Development Council’s Forwarding Local Autonomy Medal of Excellence (Flame) awards.
The Flame awards aims to recognize LGUs that excel based on their exemplary efforts towards achieving good governance and commend the dynamic participation of LGUs in regional development.
Mountain Province was the only provincial government unit to receive the recognition under the provincial LGU category.
Three municipalities – Bontoc, Paracelis, and Bauko were also awarded.
Gov. Bonifacio C. Lacwasan, Jr. and Board Member Salvador K. Dalang received the provincial award while Bontoc Mayor Franklin C. Odsey and Bauko Mayor Abraham B. Akilit received the awards for their municipalities.
The RDC recognized 13 local government units that excelled in good governance during the council’s first quarter meeting in Abra on March 5.
The award serves as a mechanism to reward the valuable contributions of LGUs towards advancing socio-economic development of the region, as well as recognize their active participation in the activities of the RDC-Cordillera, such as the renewed pursuit of Cordillera autonomy.
The awards were divided into three categories namely: province and highly urbanized city, component city or 1st to 3rd class municipalities, and 4th to 6th class municipalities.
The City Government of Baguio was awarded 1st place under the province and highly urbanized city category.
The other Flame awardees are La Trinidad, Benguet (1st place) and Buguias, Benguet for the 1st to 3rd class municipality category.
Bucay, Abra; Lamut, Ifugao; Lagawe, Ifugao; Tublay, Benguet; Asipulo, Ifugao; and San Juan, Abra were awarded under the 3rd to 5th class municipalities category.
The awardees were chosen by the RDC Regional Awards Committee based on the evaluations that were conducted by the Regional Assessment Team technical working group. – Novy R. Afidchao and Erwin S. Batnag