July 14, 2024

It was a homecourt advantage as golfers from Mankayan, Benguet do-minated the Cesar DR Pasiwen Cup at the Lepanto Golf Course in the municipality on weekend.

Lando Saguingao and Angki Ambasing have emerged the overall champions with the former winning the lowest gross plum while latter won the lowest net trophy.

CESAR DR PASIWEN CUP WINNERS — The winners in the different divisions of the B/Gen. Cesar DR Pasiwen Cup presented their trophies during awarding ceremony at the main club of the Lepanto Golf Course in Mankayan, Benguet on weekend. The event raised around P40,000 to be used to improve the course that serves as training ground for many Cordillera golfers. — Elaine Tundagui

Emerging jungol-fer Lance Sab-it ruled his division with Dexter Degay and Hiroshi Santil placing first and second runners-up, respectively.

Ereneo Degay topped the men’s A with a net of 62 followed by Tingting Mendoza and Henry Rosito with identical net of 63.

Mars Modon won the men’s B with net of 62 followed by Gimble Makannoy and Llyod Bautista, both with net 64 while the men’s C was topped by Agosto Sanguingao with net 65 followed by QC Bantog and Ashly Sab-it with 66.

The seniors championship trophy went to Esmund Pablo followed by Zaldy Neg-radaz and James Pooten while Normita dela Cruz won the ladies championship trophy followed by Lorna Makannoy and Laila Layagan.

The longest drive special award went to Macario Santil while the most accurate drive went to Alban Ayugat.

Pael Palasi won the nearest putt while Luis Sarrondo won the nearest to the pin.

The tournament, organized by retired police general Cesar DR Pasiwen, also a son of Mankayan, raised P40,000 for the improvement of the par 65 golf course in northern Benguet. – Harley F. Palangchao