September 30, 2023

The fourth and final leg of the Hari ng Ahon bike challenge series culminated with the recent staging of the final stage criterium race, as well as the closing of the inaugural Sang-atan Bike Festival in Baguio.

The event, which was set around Melvin Jones at  Burnham Park on July 2, gathered hundreds of bike enthusiasts from in and out of Baguio City.

HARI NG AHON CRITERIUM RACE — Baguio cyclists joined the criterium race as part of the Sang-atan Bike Festival on July 2. The 16-lap race started from Lake Drive going to Melvin Jones and back. A total of 14 waves from the public servants category, including City Mayor Benjamin Magalong, participated in the event. — Neil Clark Ongchangco

Andrey Valencia topped the road bike for the 15 years old and below category followed by Jerick Laureta and Jethro Binuya on second and third place.

The road bike for 16 years old and below was ruled by Mark McQueen Arellano followed by Justine Pascual and Khim Jhanric Manzano.

Josiah Nudo dominated the road bike for 17 to 19 years old followed by Stephen Rupert Tanedo, and Maygel Eve Razalan while the 20 to 35 age group were topped by Jarwyn Banatao, Inigo Efraim, and Charls Joshua Ramo.

Dhon Dreu, Reynaldo Idolor, and Jason Bryan Marquez completed the top three finishers in the 36 to 50 age group while the 50 and above was won by JT Gonzales, Bobot Benitez, and Frederic Cortes.

For the mountain bike event, Mark Jason Hora Munoz led the winners in the 19 and below age group followed by Accel Raffer and Francis Calicdan.

Jarwyn Banatao ruled the MTB 20 to 35 with Christian Gambala on second and Marc Justin Albin on third place.

Florefe Fajilan led the MTB for 36 to 50 followed by Romeo Yapit, Jr. and Reynante Gayao Pio while Albert Aquino topped the MTB 50 and above followed by Jing Lejao and Ants Tal.

Aleksandre dela Cruz topped the distaff side followed by Eisset Liwag and Mheeka Orsal while the female MTB was topped by Yesha Moga followed by Antonette Jensen Viduya.

Top teams for the road bike category were Teams Ilocarot, Bobot, and Waewa while the exemplary groups in the MTB were Team X, X-Country Boys, and Team Waewa.

Team Baguio City Police Office topped the public servant’s category with a time of 31:43 minutes when it completed 17 laps, followed by Team Mayor at 33:40 and Team Forensics at 34:09.

The first leg of the Hari ng Ahon  was held in September 2022 from Camp 1, Tuba, Benguet to Baguio City, second leg from Naguilian Road to Baguio, and  the third leg was in Nangalisan-Asin Road to Baguio City. – Ofelia C. Empian