June 20, 2024

The Sangguniang Kabataan Federation of Baguio awarded the 10 outstanding young women during the culmination of the search program organized in line with the celebration of Women’s Month.

Feted during the awarding ceremony held April 22 at City Hall were CJ Collin Fernandez, Charis Christelle Go, Eryn Kae Alvez, Samantha Jean Hamada, Vanessa Olson, Jenny Wynne Daniel, Francis Ann Cheska Delim, Deanne Louise Montenegro, Maria Cuya, and Jewel Tucneg.

The awardees made significant contributions to the community, academe and their workplaces in the aspects of youth participation, women empowerment, and gender rights advocacy.

Fernandez is active in various clubs at University of the Philippines Baguio.

Go is chairperson of the Baguio City Association of Private Schools and active in the different causes of the academe.

Alvez is a barangay kagawad of Salud Mitra and engaged in youth development programs.

Hamada is the chief of staff of the office of Mayor Benjamin Magalong.

Olson is a local youth development officer of the City Social Welfare and Development Office.

Daniel is a medical student of Saint Louis University and an advocate of youth programs.

Delim is a volunteer in service initiative programs for the youth including the National Youth Commission.

Montenegro is a prime mover in several youth organizations including the Cordilleran Youth Center.

Cuya is active in several youth organizations and groups advocating women’s rights.

Tucneg is the youth representative to the Cordillera Regional Peace and Order Council and involved in her school’s different organizations.

SK Federation President John Rhey Mananeng said the event showcased the remarkable accomplishments of young women who have made significant contributions to their community and beyond.

It was organized in line with the celebration of Women’s Month “to align with the global and nationwide initiative, aiming to highlight achievements and impactful contributions of women, specifically young leaders.” The SK Federation said the awardees satisfied the criteria of having driven positive transformations in their communities and made contributions to women empowerment and gender rights advocacy — Aileen P. Refuerzo